Summer 2021 Honors, Achievements, and Awards

Megan Henly Admitted into JSIT Workshop

Megan Henly was recently admitted into the University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Financial Security's Junior Scholar Intensive Training (JSIT). The training focuses on research and funding opportunities on Retirement and Disability that are funded by the Social Security Administration. The workshop will bring together PhD students, newly graduated PhD researchers, and junior faculty who are interested in topics related to disability and retirement research in the United States.

Marisa Rafel Awarded William and Joan Grant Memorial Entrepreneurship Prize

Marisa Rafel graduated in December with a Master's in Public Policy from the Carsey School of Public Policy at UNH. Marisa was also one of the first annual William and Joan Grant Memorial Entrepreneurship Prize recipients for her work as founder and president of the New Hampshire Toy Library Network.

Bryan Patriquin Wins First Place for NH Occupational Health Surveillance Program Poster

On April 15, Bryan Patriquin, MPH Candidate at UNH, won first prize in the poster contest at the NH Public Health Association Annual Meeting for his work with NH OHSP to highlight healthcare worker wellbeing during the pandemic. Karla Arment is Bryan's advisor.

Mary St. Jacques Selected as Reviewer for AUCD Conference

Mary St Jacques was selected as a reviewer of proposals for the AUCD conference. The review process will determine what topics will be presented at the AUCD conference.

Debra Brucker Selected for Center for Financial Security at the University of Wisconsin Research Fellow

Debra Brucker was nominated and approved to join the Center for Financial Security (CFS) at the University of Wisconsin as a Research Fellow. CFS is an applied, interdisciplinary research center that informs practitioners, policymakers, and the general public on strategies that build financial capability and security over the life course.

Megan Henly and Debra Brucker (EPM-RRTC) Selected as 2021 NARRTC Semi-Finalists

Megan Henly and Debra Brucker's 2020 paper, More than just lower wages: Intrinsic job quality for college graduates with disabilities, was selected as a semi-finalist for the 2021 NARRTC best paper award. They will present the paper at the October conference.

JoAnne Malloy to Serve on the College Research Faculty Promotion Committee

JoAnne Malloy was voted to serve in this role by her CHHS colleagues and will provide input on research faculty promotions in the college.